Sparkplug Award, 2013 Recipient: Pete Myers

Pete Myers (L) receiving the 2013 Sparkplug Award from Board Chair Olivia Farr.

Pete Myers is founder, CEO and chief scientist of Environmental Health Sciences. He holds a doctorate in the biological sciences from UC Berkeley and a BA from Reed College. For a dozen years beginning in 1990, Pete served as director of the W. Alton Jones Foundation in Charlottesville, Virginia. Along with co-authors Dr. Theo Colborn and Dianne Dumanoski, Myers wrote Our Stolen Future, a book that explores the scientific basis of concern for how contamination threatens fetal development.

Pete is now actively involved in primary research on the impacts of endocrine disruption on human health. He has chaired the board of the Science Communication Network since its founding in 2003. He has served on the board of the H. John Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment since 2007 and in May 2012 became board chair. He also serves on the board of the Jenifer Altman Foundation. Until its merger with Pew Charitable Trust in late 2007, he was board chair of the National Environmental Trust. He has also served as board president of the Consultative Group on Biological Diversity, an association of 40+ foundations supporting work on biodiversity, climate, energy and environmental health.

When the temperature is above 50 F and it’s not raining, Myers regularly publishes and from a platform in the woods near his house. Turkeys, foxes, turtles, deer and other creatures meander by. In spring the trees above are full of migrating warblers.