Sparkplug Awards

The Sparkplug Award, also known as the Frank Hatch Award for Enlightened Public Service, was established to honor the late Frank Hatch, chair of the John Merck Fund from 1987 to 2006. It recognizes outstanding leaders whose work has contributed significantly to achieving the purposes of the fund while embodying the extraordinary creativity, dedication and foresight that marked Frank Hatch’s 19 years at JMF’s helm.

The awards were made in the form of $50,000 grants. Recipients could be at any stage of their career, from formative to mature, and could decide, with JMF consultation whether the grant funds went directly to themselves and/or to their organizations. Awardees were selected annually by the JMF board of trustees.

Sparkplug Award (Frank Hatch Award for Enlightened Public Service) Recipients: